Quote of the week

“To be a great champion you must believe you are the best. If you're not, pretend you are.” – Muhammad Ali

Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Kamela leads Vodacom Premier League awards nominees

Lioli’s Jeremea Kamela leads the nominees for the Vodacom Premier League’s end of season awards announced today.  The versatile midfielder has been nominated in the player of the season and player’s player of the season categories after a sterling 2015/16 season for Lioli.

Kamela helped Tse Nala retain their league title and also inspired the champions to the LNIG Top 8 title in March.
Jerry Kamela (right) after Lioli's LNIG Top 8 success
Kamela is joined in the headline award for player of the season by the Matlama pair of Motebang Sera and Jane Thaba-Ntšo. The duo is being recognised after fine seasons for Tse Putsoa who finished second behind Lioli in the championship race.

Sera won the league’s golden boot award with 14 goals while Thaba-Ntšo finished just behind him with 13 goals. The winner of the player of the season award will walk away with a cool M5000.

Kamela also stands to win the M2500 loot for the players’ player of the season award. He is again joined in this category by Matlama striker Sera who is guaranteed M3000 for his top scorer title. The third nominee for the players’ player of the season is this year’s break-out star, Sundawana striker Roboama Koloti. The 17 year-old rookie scored 13 league goals and propelled the Butha-Buthe side to a shock top four finish in the Vodacom Premier League.

Koloti is also up for the young player of the season alongside Linare’s Khubetsoana Kamela and Kick4Life’s Lesia Thetsane.

Elsewhere, Mpitsa Marai (of LCS), Mosholi Mokhothu (of Lioli) and Matlama’s Moses Maliehe will contest the coach of the season award while the goalkeeper honour will go to Sele Thetsane (of Kick4Life), Kananelo Makhooane (of Lioli) or LCS’s Daniel Jousse.
The Golden Boot - Matlama's Motebang Sera (right)
The date and venue for the ceremony are still to be confirmed.

Here are the nominees in the different categories with the prize money:

Player of the season - M5000.00
Motebang Sera (Matlama)
Jane Thaba-Ntšo (Matlama)
Jerry Kamela (Lioli)

Young Player of the season - M2000.00
Khubetsoana Kamela (Linare)
Lesia Thetsane (Kick4Life)
Roboama Koloti (Sundawana)

Coach of the season - M2000.00
Mpitsa Marai (LCS)
Mosholi Mokhothu (Lioli)
Moses Maliehe (Matlama)

Players’ Player of the season – M2500.00
Roboama Koloti (Sundawana)
Motebang Sera (Matlama)
Jerry Kamela (Lioli)

Goalkeeper of the season – M2500.00
Sele Thetsane (Kick4Life)
Kananelo Makhooane (Lioli)
Daniel Jousse (LCS)

Top goal scorer (Golden Boot) – M3000.00
Motebang Sera (Matlama) – 14 goals

Referee of the season – M2000.00
Lebalang Mokete
Osiase Koto
Retšelisitsoe Molise

Assistant Referee of the season – M2000.00
Souru Phatsoane
Mapoho Mapoho
Pali Pali 

No comments:

Post a Comment