Quote of the week

“To be a great champion you must believe you are the best. If you're not, pretend you are.” – Muhammad Ali

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Hlompho Kalake the big winner at Bantu awards

Hlompho Kalake was the big winner at Bantu's awards after a superb season...
Hlompho ‘Stiga’ Kalake was the big winner at the Bantu club awards that were held on Sunday. The gala was held at Golden Hotel in Mafeteng as the recently crowned Vodacom Premier League champions celebrated their wonderful 2016/17 season.

It was a glitzy affair as A Matšo Matebele continued their 90th birthday celebrations and marked a second-ever league title in the club’s long history.

It turned out to be a day to remember for Kalake who won the day’s main award, the player of the season accolade, beating out club captain Thapelo Mokhehle and recent Lesotho call-up Itumeleng Falene.

Kalake won a cool M5000 for his efforts, but he wasn’t done.

The Likuena midfielder also claimed the players’ player of the season and the club’s golden boot award for scoring 13 goals in all competitions this season. Kalake received M1500 with each award.

In total, there were 13 player awards up for grabs at the gala. Skipper Mokhehle won the goal of the season for his long range thunderbolt against Liphakoe while Falene won the award for the team’s best signing.

Versatile defender Tsietsi Khooa was named the most consistent player while skilful winger Ramasimong Maloisane was awarded the fans’ favourite player accolade after a scintillating debut season in Mafeteng.

The awards also saw Bantu president John Leuta honour the club’s technical brains trust of coach James Madidilane and his assistant Bob Mafoso. Leuta also took the opportunity to deny either of the pair would be leaving the club.

“If a car is not broken, let it move,” Leuta said.

Awards and prizes:
Player of the season – Hlompho Kalake (M5000)
Players’ player of the season – Hlompho Kalake (M1500)
Young player of the season – Thabo Lesaoana (M500)
Most improved player – Itumeleng Falene (M1000)
Good sportsmanship award – Mokone Marabe (M1000)
Most consistent player – Tsietsi Khooa (M1000)
Most disciplined player – Lindokuhle Phungulwa (M1000)
Fans’ favourite player – Ramasimong Maloisane (M1000)
Best signing – Itumeleng Falene (M1000)
Longest serving – Tlali Maile (M1000)
Golden glove – Thabo Selisa (M1000)
Goal of the season – Thapelo Mokhehle (M1500)
Golden boot – Hlompho Kalake (M1500)
Presidential award – Litšepe Marabe (M1500)

No comments:

Post a Comment