Quote of the week

“To be a great champion you must believe you are the best. If you're not, pretend you are.” – Muhammad Ali

Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Afcon 2015: Liberia 1-0 Lesotho

Lesotho succumbed to a 1-0 loss to Liberia in the first leg of the sides’ 2015 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) preliminary qualifier at the Antoinette Tubman Stadium on Sunday. Despite the loss in Monrovia, Likuena will still be confident of progressing when the teams meet for the return in a fortnight.

It will be tricky assignment having failed score an away goal in Liberia, nevertheless, Lesotho remains well placed to progress to the second round of qualifying where Likuena will face either Kenya or Comoros.
The road to #Afcon2015 has begun...

Liberia’s winner was scored by South Africa-based striker Anthony Laffor in the 40th minute after he had rattled the crossbar
eight minutes earlier.

Lesotho coach Seephephe Matete adopted a 4-5-1 formation, sitting deep, looking to catch the hosts on the counterattack.

The strategy almost paid dividends on several occasions. Lesotho’s best chance came in the 10th minute when Thapelo Tale was put through into the penalty box by Bokang Mothoana, but Liberia left-back Aloysius Samujaela recovered just in time to stop Tale.

The return leg will be on Sunday, June 1 at Setsoto.

Liberia: Teah Dennis, Nathaniel Sherman, Prince Jetoh, Alseny Keita, Alpha James, Kpah Sherman (Elijah Clarke 62'), Sekou Jabateh-Oliseh, Isaac Pupo (Eddie Wulue 79'), Aloysius Samujaela (Blama Kamara 76'), Sam Kollie, Anthony Laffor (captain).

Unused substitutes: 2-Nuwo Johnson, 7-Chris Roosevelt Jones, Alvin McConnell, Melvin King. Coach: Thomas Kojo

Lesotho (4-5-1): 16.Kananelo Makhooane – 2.Sepiriti Malefane, 18.Nkau Lerotholi, 5.Moitheri Ntobo (captain), 14.Bokang Mothoana – 4.Motlalepula Mofolo, 11.Tšoanelo Koetle (3.Basia Makepe 72'), 17.Bushy Moletsane – 7.Lekhanya Lekhanya (20.Tšepo Lekhoana 72'), 21.Tšepo Seturumane (19.Mabuti Potloane 89') – 9.Thapelo Tale

Unused substitutes: 1.Likano Mphuthi, 6.Bokang Sello, 12.Phafa Tšosane, 15.Makara Ntaitsane. Coach: Seephephe Matete

No comments:

Post a Comment